Kenshin's outfit

Discussion in 'Rurouni Kenshin' started by Kenshin_Himura, Feb 22, 2004.

1. Kenshin_Himura

Kenshin_Himura New Member

What exactly is the outfit that Kenshin wears called. You know the outfit with the he wears with those pants that have wide leg sleeves? What is the technical name for that in japan?

2. Ciel

Ciel Unoa Freak
    Staff Member

maybe ask in the Rurouni Kenshin forum. Maybe some Kenshin fan will know. I know its not a Kimono. lol.

3. Superfly

Superfly Active Member

Aikido Hakama

Hakama: The traditional Hakama is a wash and wear skirt in a pleated design with two sections serving as pant legs. Koshiato in back attaches ties for a comfortable fit at the waist.

4. Kenshin_Himura

Kenshin_Himura New Member

kenshin

Thanks for your help now i know what the hakama is? But I just have one more question what does he wear with it you know his top. I only ask because I am studying kendo and i would like an outfit like that.

5. Teddz

Teddz Sexy Swedish Love ♥

Moving to Rurouni Kenshin Forum.

- Teddz

6. Hitokiri_Gensai

Hitokiri_Gensai Gunslinger Girl

the pants, are like someone posted hakama. the top is simply a kimono. its pulled up between the legs and the hakama are worn over it. its very comfortable once you get used to it being rather open and flowing. but usually the sleeves are pulled back with a long cord so that they dont get in the way during a fight. Obviously they dont have to be and i tend not to but they do sometimes get in the way. during the days when the samurai were posted at Edo castle the samurai would also where duty attire, that being the hakama and kimono with a jacket like item called a Kataginu. it has stiff shoulders that stick out and are usually made from the same cloth as the hakama. and technically the hakama were made for Kenjutsu not Aikido although the do wear them in Aikido.

7. Ice_blue_eyes

Ice_blue_eyes New Member

Yep