RK child prodigies...

Discussion in 'Rurouni Kenshin' started by C-chan, Sep 20, 2003.

1. C-chan

C-chan New Member

When one thinks of 'prodigy' and 'Rurouni Kenshin' in the same sentence, Soujirou the "Heaven Sword" comes foremost to mind. But Sou-kun isn't the only child prodigy in RK. In fact, there are no less than six child prodigies in the RK universe. Here they are:

Seta Soujirou The "Heaven Sword", Soujirou the Prodigy, is the strongest member of the Juppon Gatana, Shishio's elite band of warriors. He once said that he could do the work of all Ten Swords all by himself -- while some may take that as a foolish boast, for Soujirou it was nothing but the truth. He possesses a swordsman's natural skill, an ability that is immensely useful given that he has had virtually zero training. Everything he learned, he learned on his own. He re-created -- and essentially perfected -- a legendary speed technique, the Shukuchi. His self-taught battou-jutsu is equal to that of Battousai, who himself was reknowned for his proficiency in that technique. He discovered the secret of the Ama Kakeru Ryuu no Hirameki after only seeing it once, and it can be assumed that he was well on his way to creating a similar technique himself, lacking only the proper frame of mind to pull it off. Given his natural talents, one can only guess at the enormity of his potential if he had proper training and a stable mentality. Perhaps his journey will give him that, eventually.

Quote: After all, in this world the flesh of the weak is the food of the strong. The strong live, the weak die. You don’t kill? You protect the weak? That’s what you say, but you’re wrong. Why didn’t you protect me then? If what you say is right, why didn’t anyone protect me? No one protected me then. The only thing that protected me was the truth that Mr. Shishio taught me. All it took was one stroke of the wakizashi . . .