More History Lessons Wanted: Shinsengumi

Discussion in 'Rurouni Kenshin' started by BakaMattSu, Sep 21, 2001.

1. BakaMattSu

BakaMattSu ^__^
    Staff Member

Hey That guy!, you seem on the ball when it comes to linking real history back to Kenshin...

What kind of dirt can you dig up on Okita, the first leader of the Shinsen? He was the 1st Captain in the series, if memory serves me right, and died of tuberculosis...

BakaMattSu, 179821th Captain of the Shinsengumi...

2. That guy!

That guy! Expecting Father

BMS: I'm just learning...and kinda posting from sites I find about historic stuff. Although this Japanese History book I found lying around my house is pretty interesting too.

Probably the best-known and popular Shinsengumi figure. Another handsome total knockout, besides being a child prodigy at kenjutsu - he joined Kondou's dojo at 9, and was an accomplished swordsman at 15 or so. Former name Soujirou, (yes, it's true!) the sword he used is the one used by Soujirou in his last battle with Kenshin, the Kikuichi Norimune, length 2'4"2.

Strongest swordsman in the Shinsengumi, he yields a katana, bokken and shinai equally well. Famous for his "3-piece thrust" - 3 thrusts delivered so quickly at the opponent, usually at the neck and the right and left shoulders. Like Saito, this technique was improvised from the one invented by Hijikata.