Comics Sprite Comics

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Narusegawa Naru, Mar 12, 2003.

?

Sprite Comics the Bane of Online Comic Strips?

1. Nah.

2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. Yes!

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  3. Maybe--it just depends on how many are worth the read.

6 vote(s)
    60.0%
  4. I don't really know, or care.

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. Narusegawa Naru

Narusegawa Naru New Member

Where do you stand? Are MegaMan--or any--sprite comics good or bad for comic reputation?

I think that sprite comics are okay, as long as they're funny and have at least some plot. Bob and George is a key example of what it takes for them to work right.

Are sprite comics bad because it takes less effort than actually drawing comics? Maybe. But when you take a look at how long it takes to edit sprite sheets and make a somewhat good storyline, then you begin to see that there's more to it.

I am an author of a MegaMan sprite comic strip. I spend a lot of time writing out scripts and editing sprites. From experience, there's a lot more work involved than people think.

2. seraphinx

seraphinx Oy, Artista!

The first one I ever saw was 8-Bit Theater. I thought it was actually pretty interesting. But then I saw more and more sprite comics, and realized that in my mind, they got played out pretty fast. I think my initial reaction came from nostalgia, at seeing old skool games remixed into comics. But after a while, I feel they suffer from the P.Diddy syndrome...the taking of classic masterpieces and making "bad remixes."