Art Tangerine Souffle (a watercolour)

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Ciel, Apr 2, 2006.

1. Ciel

Ciel Unoa Freak
    Staff Member

Okay, so I'm a procrastinator and I don't do a painting and finish it in a certain amount of time unless I have a deadline.. so.. we are celebrating my Dad's 60th tomorrow, so I started drawing and painting a picture for him this week. I didn't start using the paints til thursday night, and with work and all, I didn't do much hardcore painting til today, but it's finished!

So I took pictures along the way:
    The painting is of a large Cattleya (Orchid) I have. The seller/breeder was going to throw it out so I got it for free ^__^ it has 4 new shoots coming up too now!

I didn't take a pic of the inital sketch though, maybe I'll edit later.

Initial
    Initial Leaf Painting
    Initial Flower Petal Painting

I got tired this time around of just painting layers throughout the whole work, so I started really working on the left Cattleya.. it wasn't the best thing to do so I wouldn't promote doing that..
    Left Flower Work

I went a bit wild and didn't bother taking a break after I finished the right Cattleya, so here's a picture with a background colour, I would suggest having done the blue first but I was undecided on the colour or if even having one for that matter..
    Overall Flowers and Background

A photo of the finished work:
    Finished Leaves and TouchUps

Scanned: (I better start painting smaller images for easier scanning!)
    Scanned Finished Product

Anyways, my Dad loves Cattleyas, so hopefully he likes this, I haven't done something for them in years..

tell me what you think! Hopefully I post more artwork soon, I got two others on the go.

2. SaberJ2X

SaberJ2X Moderator
    Staff Member

looks so pwetty

3. Lance Leingod

Lance Leingod The White Blade

:Cries: I just love it! :sniff:

4. kita_hoshi

kita_hoshi New Member

+Dies+ So thats what I call real art
    :anime:

5. Iya

Iya HIP ATTACK!