HTML and Scripting What is needed to..?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Zanza, Sep 15, 2004.

1. Zanza

Zanza .Net-ing & PHP-ing~*
    Staff Member

What is needed to be a good site coder?? I mean good as in great coder. A coder who will be payed for doing other's site??

Does it need to know HTML, CSS & PHP?? Does it need to know how to use graphics like in Photoshop and Flash?? Or graphics aren't that important?

Is there anyone who have coded a site for someone else and got payed for it?

I am just curious because since I am an IT student I plan on making my site-coding knowledge more and more since I believe I will use it someday.

I already know of little HTML, little but makes me go on. I believe that I need to learn PHP more than CSS, but I am one who doesn't jump to a hard level before going through other levels to reach the level I want (hard).

This might look like a waste of time and effort, but not to me. I love programming, infact there are couple who I look up to in this area, heck when I failed in my 2nd programming course I never gave up because of thoes two :)

Sorry for making this long ^^;

1 person likes this.
  2. BakaMattSu

BakaMattSu ^__^
    Staff Member

Well, here's what'll be useful for "it"

Speaking as a developer for the web, I'll try and offer the advice I can. But, really, things can vary based on your area and clients...

1) HTML and CSS should be second nature to you. If I gave you a screenshot of a page, you should be able to immediately recreate a quick layout from scratch in notepad. It's okay to look up the odd tag, but you ought to be able to crank out this stuff easily, as it's not really "coding".

2) Good handle on server-side scripting. ASP.NET (and the older ASP) are big in areas where Microsoft systems are in place, PHP is the big one for UNIX/LINUX installations. Get good at building the more dynamic solutions, as this is where the real power and development is at.